First blog post

Two more weeks and I will be ending a career that began almost 30 years ago.

At the age of 24, I left a very bad marriage with a diapered baby on each hip and no college education… into the arms of the welfare system. Thankfully I met several strong single parents attending college and within two years, I was enrolled and on my way! I earned my Bachelors degree in Mathematics, obtained my teaching license and began teaching at age 32.

The first few years of teaching were hard as I was raising two kids by myself. I usually working a second and sometimes a third job to make ends meet. But I loved teaching! It was where I was meant to be!

Then things began to change in my school a few years ago. Rather than air dirty laundry, I will just say the changes that came created stress that has affected my health both physically and mentally. The joy of teaching was no longer enough to keep me there. I will miss my kids! Oh how I will miss my kids!!

My own children are grown now. Self-sufficient and happy in their lives. It is time for me to go on an adventure and start over again. I have sold my home and will be packing up my car in a few weeks. This will be the story of my adventure.

8 thoughts on “First blog post

  1. Good luck on your new life Andra! I retired from education for similar reasons. I truly miss all my students! Enjoy your new adventure!!!

    Like

  2. Bless you for the yrs of service. I totally understand having to get out for health reasons…take good care of yourself.

    Like

  3. It brings this quote to mind…. “But what if I fall? (Girl with wings), oh Girl, what if you fly? Celebrating with you!!!

    Like

Leave a comment